## BUDGET 2020 – ENTREPRENEUR'S RELIEF REFORM



Sajid Javid will deliver his first Budget as Chancellor of the Exchequer on 11 March 2020.

It is now widely expected that the Chancellor will, in this Budget, deliver on the Conservative's election manifesto pledge to review Entrepreneur's Relief.

Entrepreneurs' Relief ('ER') is a special 10% rate of capital gains tax ('CGT') that applies when an individual sells their trading business. The normal CGT rate is 20%. The relief is subject to a lifetime cap of £10 million.

Broadly speaking, ER applies to employees or directors who have held at least 5% of the ordinary share capital of the company in which they are an employee or director throughout the two-year period prior to date of the share disposal.

The extent to which ER will be reformed is not known at this stage. However, reductions to the lifetime cap, or a change to the employment status requirement of claimants would seem to align with the Government's desire to reduce the current  $\pounds 2.4$  billion per annum cost of this relief.

With this backdrop in mind, it is not surprising that many business owners may be seeking to finalise share sales prior to the potential change of law on 11 March 2020.

We work with many business owners on determining the applicability of ER and would be happy to discuss the implications of the above with you.

Further guidance is available from your usual Rawlinson & Hunter adviser.

James Randall Partner Direct Dial: +44 (0) 20 7842 2131 Email: James.Randall@rawlinson-hunter.com

## BUSINESS TAX ALERT

## February 2020

Eighth Floor 6 New Street Square New Fetter Lane London EC4A 3AQ

And at

Q3, The Square Randalls Way Leatherhead Surrey KT22 7TW

T +44 (0)20 7842 2000 F +44 (0)20 7842 2080

hello@rawlinson-hunter.com www.rawlinson-hunter.com

Partners Chris Bliss FCA Mark Harris FCA David Barker CTA Kulwarn Nagra FCA Paul Baker ACA Andrew Shilling FCA Craig Davies FCA Graeme Privett CTA Chris Hawley ACA Phil Collington CTA Toby Crooks ACA Michael Foster CTA Paul Huggins ACA Trevor Warmington CTA James Randall FCA Kristina Volodeva CTA

Directors Lynnette Bober FCA Karen Doe Lynne Hunt FCA Gillian Lawrence CTA Nigel Medhurst AIIT AI Nawrocki CTA Mark Shaw Catherine Thompson FCA Tracy Underwood CTA Alan Ive CTA Yueling Wei FCCA Sarah Fernando CTA

Consultants Philip Prettejohn FCA

Senior Adviser David Kilshaw

